Information Package / Course Catalogue
Rectorate Hall in 1992
Rectorate Hall in 1993
Campus Construction Site in 1997
Rectorate Hall

With its vision to be a University well known in Turkey and abroad with its educational, research and service activities and which is preferred by students, academic staff and personnel; Adnan Menderes University is a state university located in the city of Aydın – located in the Aegean Region of Turkey.

Being one of the 23 Universities founded by the Law No 3837 on July 3, 1992; Adnan Menderes University started its activities with assignment of the Founding Rector on November 10, 1992. The university was named after Adnan Menderes, who was born and grew up in the city of Aydın and served as a Prime Minister of the Turkish Republic for an uninterrupted period between the years 1950 and 1960. In the foundation law of the University; five faculties including the Faculties of Arts and Sciences, Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, Agriculture and Nazilli Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences; the School of Tourism and Hotel Management – whose name became “the Faculty of Tourism” as of the Academic Year 2012–2013 - , and the Institutes of Natural, Health and Social Sciences, and the Vocational School of Söke existed. Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and the Faculty of Agriculture were founded in the year 1987 as the units of Dokuz Eylül University in Izmir, however, they didn’t start education and training. While the School of Tourism and Hotel Management was giving education as a school of Dokuz Eylül University, with the name of Aydın Vocational School of Tourism and Hotel Management; it was affiliated to Adnan Menderes University in 1992. Later in the year 2005, the State Conservatory started education in Nazilli District.

In the Academic Year 1993-1994, both structuring activities gathered speed and steps were taken to provide physical environment for the units and open graduate programmes. The School of Tourism and Hotel Management and the Faculty of Science and Arts started education and training in their own buildings in the centre of Aydın; Nazilli Faculty of Economics and Administrational Sciences started its education in the old Government House of Nazilli – after some amendments and reparation. Faculty of Agriculture started its academic activities in that Faculty of Ege University, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine in Ankara University’s Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, and finally, Aydın Vocational School of Health Services started its education and training in the buildings of Aydın Vocational High School of Health which was activated through a protocol signed between the Ministry of Health and YÖK. In the year 1997, the Faculty of Education was officially opened, and has started education on postgraduate level as but it wasn’t until the Academic Year 2000-2001 that it started education and training. Then the Faculty of Engineering was founded in the Academic Year 2008-2009, and has started education on postgraduate level as of the Academic Year 2012-2013. the faculties that have been opened officially, but that shall start education in the Academic Year 2013-2014 include the Faculty of Dental Medicine, Aydın Faculty of Economics, and Söke Faculty of Business Management.

Following the foundation of Söke Vocational School, different vocational schools offering education and training in different areas were opened in line with the strategic objectives of the Institution in various districts in the city of Aydın, requests from local and national partners also taken into consideration. As of May 2013, there are sixteen Vocational Schools of Adnan Menderes University located in different campuses.

Adnan Menderes University - Information Package / Course Catalogue